top of page

Governor Abbott orders emergency special election to fill Carlos Uresti's Senate seat

(Press Release)

AUSTIN, TX – Governor Greg Abbott has issued a proclamation ordering an emergency special election in Texas State Senate District 19 following the resignation of Senator Carlos Uresti. The emergency special election will be held on July 31, 2018 with early voting beginning on Monday, July 16, 2018. Candidates who wish to have their names placed on the special election ballot must file their applications with the Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, June 25, 2018.

“The indictment and ultimate conviction of Senator Uresti for fraud and money laundering has already left District 19 without effective representation in the Texas Senate for over a year,” said Governor Abbott. “With the 86th Legislative Session approaching, and ongoing interim legislative committee hearings, it is imperative to fill this vacancy to ensure that Senate District No. 19 is fully represented as soon as possible.”

Texas State Senate District 19 consists of Brewster, Crockett, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Kinney, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Real, Reeves, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, and Zavala Counties and parts of Atascosa and Bexar Counties.


bottom of page