top of page

Early Voting is Underway, What's on the Ballot?

Early voting for the March 2020 primaries has kicked off today in Eagle Pass, Maverick County and all throughout Texas.

Voters will have the opportunity to exercise their right to vote from February 18 to 28 prior to election day scheduled for March 3, 2020. Maverick County voters are to cast their vote at the Multi-Purpose Center located at 480 S. Adams St, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.

Voting is underway for both the Democratic and Republican primaries, however, the voter has to choose which party's ballot they want to participate in. It is not allowed to vote in both the Republican and Democratic primaries in the same election.

Increase in voter turnout is expected since the election dragged a large number of local candidates. Also, 2020 is election year for the next President of the United States, therefore, voter turnout is expected to increase dramatically.

Other important contested State of Texas races are U.S. Senator where Senator Cornyn is looking to get re-elected, Texas Supreme Court Justices, Judges for Texas Court of Appeals, Texas Supreme Court Judges, Railroad Commissioner and Texas State Board of Education among others.

District and local races with candidates on the ballot are the following:

U.S. Congress House Texas District 23:


  • Ricardo Madrid

  • Efrain Valdez

  • Jaime Escuder

  • Gina Ortiz Jones

  • Rosalinda Ramos Abuabara


  • Alma Arredondo-Lynch

  • Tony Gonzales

  • Cecil B. Jones

  • Jeff McFarlin

  • Alia Garcia-Ureste

  • Raul Reyes Jr.

  • Sharon Thomas

  • Darwin Boedeker

  • Ben Van Winkle

Texas State Senate District 19:


  • Roland Gutierrez

  • Xochil Pena Rodriguez

  • Freddy Ramirez


  • Peter Flores (incumbent)

Texas State Representative HD 74:


  • Eddie Morales Jr.

  • Rowland Garza

  • Ramsey E. Cantu


  • Ruben Falcon

  • Robert Garza

District Attorney:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidates)

  • Roberto Serna (incumbent)

  • Alberto Rodriguez (challenger)


(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidates)

  • Tom Schmeber (incumbent)


County Attorney:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Gloria Hernandez (incumbent)

  • Jaime A.J. Iracheta (challenger)

Tax Assessor Collector:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Isamari Sanchez-Villarreal (incumbent)


County Commissioner Pct 1:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Gerardo "Jerry" Morales (incumbent)

  • Robert Martinez (challenger)

County Commissioner Pct. 3:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Pete Venegas Jr. (incumbent)

  • Olga Ramos (challenger)

County Constable Pct. 1:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Rudy Valdez (incumbent)

  • Jose Duran (challenger)

  • Oscar Ramos (challenger)

County Constable Pct. 2:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Alberto "Beto" De La Torre

  • Ernie Leija

  • Denise Cantu

  • Cesar Torres

  • Enrique "Kike" Velez

County Constable Pct. 3-AB:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Mario Hernandez (incumbent)

  • Juan Anotnio "Tony" Silva (challenger)

County Constable Pct. 3-2:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Samuel "Sam" Chacon (incumbent)

  • Julio Mancha (challenger)

County Constable Pct. 4:

(Democrats Only/No Republican Candidate)

  • Jose Regalado (incumbent)

  • Joe "Mike" Beattie (challenger)

  • Hector "Big Rod" Rodriguez (challenger)


bottom of page